Mitchell repeats as Patroon boys soccer MVP

Tim Martin/Columbia-Greene Media Greenville’s James Mitchell (10) was named the Patroon Conference boys soccer Most Valuable Player for the second straight year.

GREENVILLE — Greenville’s James Mitchell was named the Patroon Conference boys soccer Most Valuable Player for the second year in a row.

Mitchell helped Greenville win all seven regular-season games, then defeat Cairo-Durham in the league tournament semifinals and Maple Hill in the championship game. The Spartans outscored their opponents, 41-2, over nine games.

“It’s a privilege and an honor to have received this award two years in a row,” Mitchell said. “I feel this is a great opportunity to also thank the team and our coaching staff for the outstanding effort everyone put in throughout the season. It’s been a privilege to play my last season with such a successful and hard working team.”

Mitchell, a senior, is looking to play at the next level and has narrowed his list of colleges to UAlbany, Binghamton and Bryant.

Two of Mitchell’s teammates, defender Isaiah Edmonds and striker Ben Reinhard, earned first-team All-Conference status.

Rounding out the first team are striker Diego Rivera and mifield Corbin Rivenburg of Cairo-Durham; midfield Eli Charlebois, striker Dominic Hirschoff and midfield Aiden Fletcher of Maple Hill; midfield Nick Agovino of Coxsackie-Athens; midfield Abid Ali and keeper Kasey Moore of Hudson and midfield Ryan Carter and striker Eddie Rogers of Catskill.

2020 Patroon Conference All-Stars:


James Mitchell-Greenville-Mid

First Team

Diego Rivera-Cairo-Durham-Striker

Isaiah Edmonds-Greenville-Def

Eli Charlebois-Maple Hill-Mid

Ben Reinhard-Greenville-Striker

Nick Agovino-Coxsackie-Athens-Mid

Abid Ali-Hudson-Mid

Aiden Fletcher-Maple Hill-Mid

Ryan Carter-Catskill-Mid

Eddie Rogers-Catskill-Striker

Corbin Rivenburg-Cairo-Durham-Mid

Dom Hirschoff-Maple Hill-Striker

Kasey Moore-Hudson-keeper

Second Team

Jack Motta-Greenville-Mid

Justin Caruso-Coxsackie-Athens-Def

Gediwon Williams-Coxsackie-Athens-Mid

Kobe VanAlstyne-Taconic Hills-Striker

Ethan Phillips-Cairo-Durham-Def

Liam Bowden-Greenville-Mid

Daniel Liebowitz-Catskill-Def

Peyton Gergen-Greenville-Def

Connor Tomaso-Hudson-Mid

Jack Utter-Maple Hill-Def

Colin MacGiffert-Cairo-Durham-Keeper

Additional Exceptional Seniors

Dennis Thorpe-CD-Def

Josh Kiefer-CA-Def

Josiah Decker-CA-Striker

Miles Weiss-GR-Mid

DJ Gardner-GR-Mid

Zainul Chowdhury-Hudson-Def

Zakhariah Chowdhury-Hudson-Def

Zach Bernockie-Hudson-Mid

Davin Sherwood-Maple Hill-Def

Justin Sober-Maple Hill-Def/Keep

George Isbester-Maple Hill-Mid

Izac Jennings-TH-Keeper

Noel Atwood-TH-Def

Mark Blendell-TH-Mid

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Johnson Newspapers 7.1


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.