Saturday was a banner day for local wrestlers as eight came home with Section II championships.

Placing in the top four of the Section 2 Class C and D Tournaments earns a wrestler a spot at the Section 2 Division II State Qualifier this coming Saturday at Cool Insuring Arena in Glens Falls.

At the Class C championships at Tamarac High School, two Coxsackie-Athens wrestlers earned titles.

Logan Campbell started his day off with a victory, putting him at 100 career wins over the course of his career. He went on to win the 113-pound championship by pinning Tamarac’s Torin Bishop in 1:46.

Campbell’s teammate, Colby Lord, captured a title in the 182-pound weight class by pinning Ravena’s Ricky Hernandez in 4:32.

In all, Coxsackie-Athens had 10 wrestlers place in the top four, all of which will be competing at the State Qualifier.

To top the night off, Coxsackie-Athens was named the Section II Class C runner-up, finishing the tournament with the second most team points (187.5). This was the best finish in program history. Tamarac finished first in the team standings with 231.5 points.

Three Ichabod Crane wrestlers earned Section II titles. Jair Gomez pinned Trevor Bishop of Tamarac in 1:31 to take the 99-pound class, Jerald Rhoades decisioned Anthony Delmonico of Watervliet (8-5) in the 138-pound class and Connor Pesce pinned Matt O’Connor of Ravena in 4:32 in the 285-pound class.

Kieran and Aidan Cullen claimed Section II championships for Greenville. Kieran earned a major decision over Omar Martinez of Ichabod Crane (11-0) at 106 pounds and Aidan posted a major decision over Patrick Moore of Watervliet (10-0) at 132 pounds.

In Class D, Maple Hill’s Caleb Svingala took the title at 126 pounds and remains unbeaten and unscored upon this season, pinning Warrensburg’s Dylan Winchell in :55 in the finals.

The following wrestlers will be moving on to the state qualifier in Glens Falls on Saturday. Their school and finishes at the Section II championships are in parentheses.


99: Jair Gomez (ICC, champion), Neil Murphy (C-A, third), Chase Allen (Catskill, fourth); 106: Kieran Cullen (Greenville, champion), Omar Martinez (ICC, second); 113: Logan Campbell (C-A, champion); 126: Bernard Davis (Greenville, fourth); 132: Aidan Cullen (Greenville, champion), Janoy Harrison (ICC, fourth); 138: Noah Bartels (C-A, third); 138: Jerald Rhoades (ICC, champion), Schyler Caringi (C-A, fourth); 145: Anthony Iammuno (C-A, fourth); 152: Jesse Davies (Catskill, second), Joseph Martinez (C-A, fourth); 160: Colin Riley (C-A, third), Logan Denniston (Catskill, fourth); 170: Stephen Forbes (Catskill, third), Andrew Riley (C-A, fourth); 182: Colby Lord (C-A, champion), Logan Phillips (TH, fourth); 220: Seth Dillworth (C-A, second), Zach Ebel (ICC, third); 285: Connor Pesce (ICC, champion), Ed Smith (TH, fourth).


106: Thomas Merhige (MH, second); 120: Javier Ayarza (MH, third); 126: Caleb Svingala (MH, champion), Anthony Ortiz (MH, fourth); 138: James Colvin (MH, second); 145: Cody Chicoine (MH, fourth); 160: Reese Steele (MH, third); 220: Anthony Sturgis (MH, fourth). 

Johnson Newspapers 7.1


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.