GLENS FALLS — The Hyde Collection, the esteemed European and American art museum located in the historic Hyde House in Glens Falls, is delighted to announce John Lefner as the new Chief Development Officer. Lefner has more than 17 years of not-for-profit leadership and fundraising experience. In his most recent position, he was the District Executive Director for the Capital District YMCA where he led the strategic plan and oversaw all operations of YMCA Camp Chingachgook and the Schenectady YMCA. Prior to that, Lefner was the Director of Operations for the Saratoga Independent School and the Assistant Director of Operations for the Double H Ranch. Lefner has served as board member for Wellspring and the NYS YMCA Foundation, provided leadership to the Schenectady Foundation’s COVID-19 Coalition, and volunteers regularly in the Capital Region.

Over the past six years, Lefner has led successful scholarship campaigns for YMCA Camp Chingachgook and the Schenectady YMCA and secured a $100,000 major capital campaign pledge targeted at developing a new healthcare facility on the grounds of Chingachgook. His most recent fundraising success was raising over $100,000 during the COVID-19 pandemic to support essential childcare programs and the reopening of Camp Chingachgook. He has a history of developing strong personal relationships and alliances.

Lefner graduated from Champlain College with Associate & Bachelor of Science degrees and possesses a YMCA Fundraising Certificate from Indiana University Lilly School of Philanthropy. Lefner, his wife Dr. Jennifer Lefner, and daughters Sasha and Olivia reside in Greenfield Center. His first day with The Hyde was on Jan. 5, 2021.

The Museum also announces the appointment of Carl DeBrule and James R. Burkett to its board of directors, effective immediately.

Both DeBrule and Burkett have strong ties to the region — and its arts community — and will help usher the Museum into the new year, following the challenges of 2020.

DeBrule, who has spent more than 25 years in the health care industry, has held senior level positions at Medco Health Solutions (now Express Scripts)—Vice President of Client Services and Technology, and COO of Client Operations at the Accredo Heath subsidiary of Medco Health Solutions — and has also served as a member of Medco’s Operating Committee. Most recently, DeBrule has served in the role of Vice President of Technology Services, with responsibilities for applications development teams, for global corporate business technology organization Johnson & Johnson, with responsibilities in Human Resources, Financial, Legal and Compliance organizations. DeBrule is a graduate of George Washington University and holds a degree in Political Science. He and his wife, Terry, live in Saratoga Springs and are proud parents of two adult children — and now grandparents, to their first grandchild.

Burkett is a Principal Attorney with the law firm of Bartlett, Pontiff, Stewart & Rhodes, P.C., in Glens Falls and has been practicing law with this firm for 27 years. Originally from Potsdam, Burkett attended the State University of New York at Binghamton and then the Albany Law School of Union University, where he graduated magna cum laude. Burkett also worked for the New York State Supreme Court, Appellate Division, Third Department, before furthering his career at Bartlett, Pontiff, Stewart & Rhodes. At the law firm, he devotes most of his time to estate planning and administration, real estate transactions and appellate litigation. Burkett and his wife of 30 years, Susan, live in Wilton and have two sons, Matthew, a local pharmacist, and Michael, who is completing his education for a Pharm D. at the University of Rhode Island. Burkett is also currently a member of the Board of Directors of Greater Adirondack Home Aides and Adirondack Samaritan Counseling Center, and a past president of both boards. He has also served on various other local nonprofit boards.

DeBrule and Burkett join The Hyde Collection’s Board, which works to satisfy the Museum’s mission to educate and expose the public to works in its far-reaching collection. They join Chelsea H. Silver, Chair of the Board of Trustees; Jason Ward, Co-Vice Chair; Sarah Parker Ward, Co-Vice Chair; and James Amell, Treasurer along with members India Adams, Ellen-Deane Cummins, Christopher Detmer, David C. Howson, Daquetta P. Jones, Francine Nemer, Connie Gerarde Niles, Mary Renz, Craig Seybolt, Stephan von Schenk and Shane Williams-Ness.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Johnson Newspapers 7.1

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.