ALBANY — Mayor Francis X. Murray of the Village of Rockville Centre, Nassau County, has become the 96th President of the New York State Conference Mayors, effective January 1, 2022. The swearing-in ceremony took place Jan. 3 at Rockville Centre Village Hall.

“I am very proud to accept the presidency of the New York State Conference of Mayors,” said Mayor Murray. “Local government is the government closest to the people. This fact has been proven more clearly than ever before over the course of the past 22 months, as municipal officials have been in the forefront of ensuring the safety of our residents and restoring economic opportunity in New York. I look forward to leading our village and city membership in pursuing increased state aid and protection of local home rule, as we strive to make our communities great places to live, work and raise a family.”

“Cities and villages play a critical role in the economic prosperity of our State,” stated Peter A. Baynes, NYCOM Executive Director. “Mayor Murray’s successful experience as the leader of New York’s 10th largest village, along with his strong background in downtown development, will be put to great use in NYCOM’s ongoing efforts to inform and engage our members in their capacity as New York’s frontline leaders.”

Mayor Francis X. Murray, a lifelong resident of Rockville Centre, was first elected in 2011 and is in his third term as Mayor of one of Long Island’s largest and most vibrant villages. He has been an active member of the Rockville Centre Fire Department since 1972, including serving as an EMT. He was a co-chair of the Village’s Environmental and Beautification Committee; Vice President of the RVC Conservancy; a board member of the Friends of Senior Services Inc. (FOSSI); and a co-chair of the Community Fund Golf Outing. He is president of FX Murray Maintenance and a member of the Rockville Centre Chamber of Commerce. He has been president of the Mercy Medical Center Foundation, president of the Friends of Mercy and a Mercy Medical Center Board of Trustees member.

Serving as NYCOM officers from Jan. 1, 2022 through May 18, 2023, are President, Mayor Francis X. Murray, Village of Rockville Centre; First Vice President, Mayor Svante Myrick, City of Ithaca; Treasurer, Mayor Kathy Sheehan, City of Albany.

The Conference of Mayors serves and represents 575 cities and villages in New York State, ranging from the smallest village to the City of New York. NYCOM has been in existence since 1910.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Johnson Newspapers 7.1

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.