Athens Volunteer Fire Department annual banquet and awards ceremony

Contributed photoAthens Volunteer Fire Department held their annual banquet and awards ceremony April 30 at the Athens Fire hall. Firematic officers were sworn in by Village of Athens Mayor Amy Serrago. Six members recieved 50 years of service awards and several firefighters were recognized for outstanding achievements. 50 Years of service award recipients are Stan Nestlen, William “Bibs” Nestlen Jr., Warren Gritmon, Robert VanValkenburg, David Riley, and missing from picture is Bruce Miller. Also pictured is Mark Dinkleacker Hudson Mohawk VFA, Robert Outhouse President HVVFA, John P. Farrell President of FASNY and members of Congressman’s Anthony Delgados office. Fire Department line officers sworn in by the Mayor were Chief Wayne Butterworth, First Assistant Chief Anthony DelVecchio III, Second Assistant Chief James Robinson III, Captain Antonio Fuentes, Lt. Chris Frisbee, Lt. Dave Disbrow and Fire Police Captain Greg Walker. Department officers for 2022 are President Alan Frisbee; Vice President John C. Miller; Secretary Emily Lubera; Treasurer George Stacey Sr.; Recording Secretary Tom Borfitz. Board of Directors Robert Schrader, John Greco, Bill Tompkins, Mike Gonzales and Jessica Vermylie. Chaplain Josh Camacho, Sgt At Arms Emily Lubera, Steward Randy VanValkenburg and Quarter Master Tim Albright Sr.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.