Art Omi: Architecture announces 2020 residents and guest architecture critic

Photo by Alon KoppelArt Omi Scultpure & Architecture Park. Left: ReActor, Alex Schweder + Ward Shelley. Right: Zoid, LevenBetts.

GHENT - Art Omi announces the 10 2020 architects selected for the 2020 Art Omi: Architecture residency. Now in its fourth year, the Art Omi: Architecture residency is the first and only of its kind in the United States, inviting 10 early- to mid-career architects from around the world to develop work during a two-week residency at Art Omi in Ghent. Described as “one of the world’s most inspiring design residencies,” by Artsy, alumni include architects from more than 10 countries.

The 10 architects selected for the 2020 cohort were chosen through a competitive juried process, and work on an array of scales and interests, including art, technology, design and urbanism. During their residency in February and March, they will have the opportunity to experiment, innovate, and brainstorm with peers in a studio think-tank setting.

The residency culminates with the annual Architecture Review on March 7 at Art Omi. Led by Guest Architecture Critic Cathleen McGuigan, the architects-in-residence pin-up and share the work that they have accomplished over the preceding two weeks. The public is invited to observe this critic-led conversation, and see the early stages of the thinking and design process of making architecture.

“Architects now, more than ever, need the time and the place to re-focus,” says Warren James, Director, Art Omi: Architecture. “Once on campus, untethered, the Architecture Residents work on their own new ideas and, collectively, different perspectives begin to take shape. The Art Omi: Architecture program also aims to launch with the Architecture Residency new communities of interconnected architects working worldwide, that can tackle the urgent challenges of our time.”

The 2020 Art Omi: Architecture Residents

Monica Figueroa & Norberto Torres, Puerto Rico; Jeffrey Halstead, Canada; Diego Agustin Larrain Aguado, Chile; Stephanie Lin, Canada; Felipe Orensanz, Argentina; Elsa Ponce Vargas, Mexico; Jeffrey James Roberson, USA; Camille Sherrod, USA; Hans Tursack, USA.

The 2020 Art Omi: Architecture Jury

Christina de León, Associate Curator, Latino Design at Cooper Hewitt Smithsonian, Design Museum; Galia Solomonoff, Founding Principal Architect, Solomonoff Architecture Studio; Warren James, Director, Art Omi: Architecture; Allan Wexler, Artist/Architect and Art Omi: Architecture Program Board.

2020 Art Omi: Guest Architecture Critic

Cathleen McGuigan is editor-in-chief of Architectural Record, the nation’s leading architecture publication for 125 years. Under her leadership, Record has won the Grand Neal award, the top American Business Media award for overall excellence, among numerous other editorial awards. A former architecture critic and arts editor of Newsweek, McGuigan has a BA from Brown University and was awarded a Loeb Fellowship at the Graduate School of Design at Harvard. She has taught at Columbia University’s Graduate School of Journalism and has been a Poynter Fellow at Yale. Her articles have appeared in such publications as The New York Times Magazine, Smithsonian, and Rolling Stone. She sits on the board of trustees of the Skyscraper Museum and the Center for Architecture in New York and is on the advisory council of the Beverly Willis Architecture Foundation.

Johnson Newspapers 7.1

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.