Skip to main content

Vote in village elections Tuesday

March 15, 2019 10:16 pm

Voters in Greene and Columbia counties are urged to go to the polls Tuesday to decide the direction their villages will take over the next two to three years.

Five villages in Greene County and four in Columbia County are holding elections, but several races are uncontested.

Here’s some of what voters will see on the ballots in the Twin Counties’ nine villages. All polling places are open from noon to 9 p.m.

Athens: Three people are running for mayor. Republican incumbent Peter Alberti is challenged by Democratic Trustee Stephan Bradicich and independent candidate Norman Benjamin Jr. Four people are running for two seats on the village board. Republican incumbent Shannon Spinner, Republican Robert Scott and Democrats Joshua Lipsman and Amy Serrago are in the race.

Catskill: Four people are running for two seats on the village board. Village President Vincent Seeley, on the Democratic and Independence party lines, and Trustee Stanley Dushane, on the Republican and Constitution party lines, the incumbents, are challenged by Natasha Law, (D,I) and Daniel M. Shanley, (R, Constitution).

Chatham: John F. Howe is running unopposed for mayor. He will succeed Thomas Curran. Jaimee Boehm, Peter Minahan and Jodie Russell are running for election to a two-year term as trustee. Melony Spock and Joseph Cerami are running for a one-year term as trustee.

Coxsackie: Incumbent Mayor Mark Evans, a Republican, and incumbent trustees Donald Daoust, a Democrat, and Stephen Hanse, a Republican, are running unopposed.

Hunter: Anita Ayres of the Pro party and Guy Chirico of the Livable Village party are running unopposed for two trustee seats.

Kinderhook: David Flaherty and Dale R. Reiser, both of the Van Buren party, are running unopposed for two trustee seats.

Philmont: Two people are running for mayor. Incumbent Clarence V. Speed (People’s Party) is challenged by Robin Andrews of the Citizens Party. Three people are running for two trustee seats. Incumbents Laurence Ostrander (Pine Tree Party) and Douglas C. Cropper (Village Party) are joined in the race by Heath Iverson (Philmont’s Future Party).

Tannersville: Incumbent Mayor Lee McGunnigle (Democratic, Watchful Eye) is running unopposed for a new term. Four people are running for two trustee seats. Incumbents Dave Kashman, a Democrat, and Gregory Landers (Democratic, Watchful Eye) are challenged by Clifton Thompson and John Palermo Sr., both running on the Right Choice Party line.

Valatie: Incumbent Mayor Diane Argyle and incumbent trustees Frank Bevens and Larry Eleby are running unopposed for new terms.

These are the key races among the policymakers in Columbia and Greene counties. You may have been visited by them on door-to-door campaigns. You may have seen and heard them at village board meetings. You may have stopped to talk to them at the local grocery store. You know where they stand and what their goals are for new terms. On Tuesday, voters, the choice is yours.