Skip to main content

Hudson, ICC athletes line Reinfurt All-Stars list

November 8, 2018 02:36 pm

HUDSON — Hudson linebacker Spencer Goldstien was named Class B Reinfurt Division Defensive Player of the Year, Bluehawks coach John Davi announced on Thursday.

In addition, Hudson’s Josh Wallace (running back), Nick Bernockie (defensive line) and Charles Goodermote were all Reinfurt Division first-team All-Stars, while teammates Zyonn Clanton (defensive end) and Mike Green (defensive back) earned honorable mention status.

Ichabod Crane was represented on the first team by tight end Haydon Broockmann and running back Tobi Zucco.

Goldstien moved from defensive line to linebacker for his senior season and was dominant, leading the Bluehawks in tackles with 82 (51 solo, 31 assisted) and sacks with 10. He also showed off his versatility, lining up in the offensive backfield in goal line situations, scoring five touchdowns.

Wallace missed the first two games of the season, but he more than made up for it in the final seven games, rushing for 1,103 yards on 101 carries, with a school-record 99-yard run coming in the Section II, Class B quarterfinals against Hudson Falls.

Wallace, a junior, scored 13 touchdowns and had his best game of the season against Johnstown, rushing for 320 yards and four touchdowns on just 15 carries in a 66-8 victory.

Bernockie, like Goldstien, was a force on defense all season long, coming up with 22 solo tackles, 21 assists and 7.5 sacks. Goodermote had 30 solo tackles, 19 assists, two sacks and one fumble recovery.

Broockmann, a junior, has developed into one of the top tight ends in Section II, if not the state, hauling in 37 receptions for more than 700 yards and 11 touchdowns this season. He finished the season on a high note with 11 receptions for 222 yards and three touchdowns in a 20-6 victory over Taconic Hills.

Zucco finished up his high school career with close to 600 yards rushing, while also proving to be a pass-catching threat out of the backfield and a dangerous kick returner. He took a kickoff 80 yards for a score in a 30-20 loss to Ravena in Week 6.

“I’m absolutely thrilled for them,” Ichabod Crane coach Tom Call said. “To be selected as a first-team All-Star in this tough of a division is quite an accomplishment. It shows that not only is the Ichabod community aware of their talents, but to be selected first-team shows that the other coaches were aware of their contributions on the field, as well. Tobi and Haydon bought in to what we’re trying to build here at Ichabod Crane. Not only schematically, but also in their commitment to the offseason: weight room, skill sessions, 7on7’s, helping build our youth flag football program. It goes to show that consistent hard work pays off in the end.”

Reinfurt Division champion Cobleskill-Richmondville was well represented on the All-Star team. Quarterback Donovan Pacatte was named Most Valuable Player and running back Hunter Edwards earned Offensive Player of the Year honors. Pacatte and Lansingburgh’s Vinny Tario were also honored in the All-Purpose category.

2018 Class B Reinfurt Division All-Stars

MVP: Donovan Pacatte (Cobleskill).

Offensive Player of the Year: Hunter Edwards (Cobleskill).

Defensive Player of the Year: Spencer Goldstien (Hudson).

All-Purpose: Donovan Pacatte (Cobleskill) and Vinny Tario (Lansingburgh).


Quarterback: Shane O’Dell (Schalmont); running backs: Josh Wallace (Hudson), Tobi Zucco (Ichabod Crane), Ben Burchhardt (Schalmont), Marlon Laing (Ravena); wide receivers: Steve Maniscalco (Cobleskill), LJ Randle (Schalmont), Gannon Strube (Schalmont); offensive line: Spencer Lindstead (Cobleskill), Ronald Smith (Cobleskill), Tim Benac (Cobleskill), Phillip Panzera (Cobleskill), Christian Salvio (Ravena); tight end: Haydon Broockmann (Ichabod Crane).


Defensive line: Nick Bernockie (Hudson), William Magdziuk (Cobleskill), Marcus Capobianco (Cobleskill), Patrick Nichols (Cobleskill); linebacker: Shane Oldorf (Cobleskill), Joe DeChristopher (Cobleskill), David Leon (Schalmont), Darnell Green (Schalmont), Nelson Ruoff (Ravena); defensive back: Charles Goodermote (Hudson), Alan Sperbeck (Cobleskill), Alex Javitz (Cobleskill).


Cobleskill: Danny Veley (offensive line), Jacob Dafeldecker (wide receiver), Justin Schrom (linebacker), Jeffrey Crooks (defensive line).

Schalmont: Wade Funk (offensive line), Noah Doleszar (offensive line), Jackson Woodrow (tight end/wide receiver), Trent Randle (defensive back).

Hudson: Zyonn Clanton (defensive end), Michael Green (defensive back).

Ichabod Crane: Marcus George (linebacker).

Ravena: Ricky Hernandez (linebacker), Matt O’Connor (offensive line), CJ Bianchino (quarterback).

Lansingburgh: Lucas McKenna (wide receiver), Jason Stamas (tight end), Izayah Bashfors (offensive line), Anthony Thompson (wide receiver), Cooper Danskin (linebacker), Alanzo Barrett (linebacker).