Skip to main content

CCS Class of 1968 Memorial Award

Sydney Newton
September 11, 2019 11:35 am

CHATHAM — Sydney Newton of East Chatham was the first recipient of the newly established Chatham Central School Class of 1968 Memorial Award, in the amount of $500.

In developing the criteria, members of the Class of 1968 recalled what was important to them in school and throughout their lives.

These “Best of ‘68” values included a positive attitude, a strong sense of community, a strong work ethic, a willingness to take a chance even if it is not the popular choice, and empathy toward others.

Of the many candidates, Newton best exemplified these values.

Class of 1968 members memorialized by this award include: Ellen Alessi Sage, Sandra Bleau Tefft, William Bither, Kathleen Francis Kandrach, George Herrick, Barbara Howarth, Kathleen Howe White, Donald Mettauer, Jon Mink, Samuel Orne, Cheryl Ostrander, Christopher Plankey, Jacob Prusky, Burton Schrenkeisen, Richard Sitzer, Mark Straub, George Strevell and Marcus Scott Wood.

Donations and fundraising at the class’s 50th reunion in 2018, established this award.

Anyone wishing to contribute to this annual award may contact Christine Madsen Rundell at 518-965-4220 for more information.