Skip to main content

C-A grapplers get revenge on Catskill with big win

January 11, 2019 12:00 am Updated: February 3, 2019 01:41 pm

COXSACKIE — In a battle for first place in the Patroon Conference, Coxsackie-Athens (5-0), brought its best against Catskill (3-1), winning the overall meet, 66-22. 

C-A wrestlers came hungry, looking for revenge from last year’s 40-39 loss to the Cats. The Indians took forfeit wins with Aiden Scarpinati (106) and Logan Campbell (113), while Tommy Notabartolo winning by disqualification at 120. Schyler Caringi (126), Colin Riley (152), Jake Warren (160), Colby Lord (182), Devon Shader (195), Dakota Anatriello (220) and Marc Martinez all won by pin and Noah Bartels (132) earned a victory by way of injury default.

“Well 40-39 is all we remembered from last year, so we are pretty happy with today,” Coxsackie-Athens coach Ryan Palmer said. “They beat us last year and the boys did not forget about it.”

Catskill victories came from Dan Smith (99), Jesse Davies (145) and Rich Forbes (170) by pin and Dan Forbes (138) won by decision, 9-0.

The night was filled with exciting matches, the first match of the night was 182 weight class with Colby Lord (C-A) against Ben Sullivan. Lord was dominating the first period with a take down and near fall, Lord also committed a penalty giving one point to Sullivan. Sullivan came back strong with an escape, a take down and a near fall on Lord. Lord also had an escape and take down in the second. In the third period, Sullivan earned a take down and Lord worked in a reversal, but Lord would have the better stamina and pin Sullivan at the 1:20 mark in the third. It set the pace for matches to come after. 

A C-A crowd favorite at 126, Schyler Caringi brought the home crowd to their feet when she pinned Catskill’s upcoming stud, Marco Dodig. Dodig dominated in the first minute taking leg control and earning a take down. But once on the mat, Caringi used her impressive athletic skill to earn a reverse and wiggle out of a hold into a pin position, holding Dodig for a pin and a win. 

“Skyler had an impressive match, Jake Warren, our 160 pounder, just beat a kid that he lost 6-1 to over the weekend. The kid is a good wrestler, we caught him and just took advantage of it.” Palmer said.

At 160, Jake Warren and Logan Denniston met for the second time in a week. It was a equal match in the first period, but Warren wore down Denniston and earned an escape and take down, and also a penalty point form Denniston. Warren would pin Denniston in the second period with seven seconds left on the clock. 

Captains on each team, C-A’s Marc Martinez and Devon Shader along with Catskill’s Jesse Davies and Rich Forbes all showed why they earned that title, winning by pin in their individual matches. Palmer was very pleased with his team and how it performed, but he is already looking ahead to the next match. 

“Maple Hill is the next match, that’s who we are preparing for and they’re good,” Palmer said. “They are well-coached, that’s my old peewee coach over there. There is a little bit of inside motivation, too, but there is a lot to work on.” 


182 – Colby Lord (C-A) pinned Ben Sullivan (CAT), Period 3- 4:40; 195 – Devon Shader (C-A) pinned Carson Hotaling (CAT), Period 1- 1:11; 220 – Dakota Anatriello (C-A) wins by forfeit; 284 – Marc Martinez (C-A) pinned Ian Sutherland (CAT), Period 1 – 35 seconds; 99 – Dan Smith (CAT) pinned Gage Decker (C-A), Period 2-2:36; 106 – Aiden Scarpinati (C-A) wins by forfeit; 113 – Logan Campbell (C-A) wins by forfeit; 120- Tommy Notabartolo (C-A) won by disqualification against Scott Baker (CAT); 126 – Schyler Caringi (C-A) pinned Marco Dodig (CAT), Period 1- 1:43; 132 – Dan Forbes (CAT) defeated Jesse White, 9-0; 145 – Jesse Davies (CAT) pinned Julian Cruz (C-A), Period 1- 1:41; 152 – Colin Riley (C-A) pinned pinned Justin Uvino, Period 3 – 4:33; 160 – Jake Warren (C-A) pinned Logan Denniston (CAT), Period 2 – 3:35; 170 – Rich Forbes (CAT) pinned Andrew Riley (C-A), Period 1 – :30 seconds. 

Ichabod Crane 51, Albany Academy 28

VALATIE — Ichabod Crane earned six victories by pin en route to a 51-28 vicitory over Albany Academy in Thursday’s Colonial Council wrestling match.

Omar Gomez (106), Anthony Doria (113), Jason Craig (126), Jerald Rhoades (138) and Janoy Harrison (145) and Phil Saunders (152) all won their matches by pin to highlight the Riders’ victory.


182 — Ben Farrell (AA) major decision over Tommy Miller (IC), 13-1; 195 — Colby Fisher (IC) decisioned Callahan Kiel (AA), 4-3; 220 — Alex Oliver (AA) decisoned Zach Ebel (IC), 7-2; 285 — Sandeep Oliver (AA) pinned Javin Armstrong (IC); 99 — Jair Gomez (IC) won by forfeit; 106 — Omar Gomez (IC) pinned Shreyas Tata (AA); 113 — Anthony Doria (IC) won by forfeit; 120 — Quinn Russell (AA) decisoned Max LuxRamos (IC), 14-9; 126 — Jason Craig (IC) pinned Filip Carroll (AA); 132 — Jared Kwarta (IC) won by forfeit; 138 — Jerald Rhoades (IC) pinned Ben Kieran (AA); 145 — Janoy Harrison (IC) pinned Boden Reynolds (AA); 152 — Phil Saunders (IC) pinned Conrad Heins (AA); 160 — Richie Cavoli (AA) pinned Curtis Zink (IC); 170 — Jack Gannon (AA) pinned Eva Nelson (IC).

Maple Hill 63, Berlin 18

CASTLETON — Maple Hill warmed up for next week’s showdown with Coxsackie-Athens by defeating Berlin, 63-18, in Thursday’s non-league wrestling match.

The Wildcats earned nine victories by pin, one of which was from Caleb Svingala, who improved to 18-0.

Maple Hill will host the Joe McCabe Tournament on Saturday, then square off with unbeaten Coxsackie-Athens at Maple Hill High School on Thursday.


99 — Thomas Merhige (Maple Hill) pinned Alexander Chrisikos (Berlin), :17; 106 — double forfeit; 113 — Caleb Svingala (Maple Hill) pinned Evan Yerdon (Berlin), 1:01; 120 — Anthony Ortiz (Maple Hill) pinned Jacob Harrison (Berlin), 1:11; 126 — Cody Chicoine (Maple Hill) pinned Joshua Zlotnick (Berlin), 2:16; 132 — Trent Svingala (Maple Hill) won by forfeit; 138 — Matthew Kluck (Berlin) pinned Josh Donnelly (Maple Hill), 3:52; 145 — Joshua Wescott (Berlin) pinned Devin Feliz (Maple Hill), :29; 152 — Reese Steele (Maple Hill) pinned Josh Bosso (Berlin), 3:18; 160 — Hunter Pomykaj (Maple Hill) pinned Phillip Oakes (Berlin), :27; 170 — Joshua Montante (Berlin) pinned Adrian Delfavero (Maple Hill), 1:59; 182 — Kenny Shaw (Maple Hill) decisoned Cole Roberts (Berlin), 5-1; 195 — James Miller (Maple Hill) pinned Cole Roberts (Berlin), :23; 220 — Joe Sturgis (Maple Hill) pinned Kevin MacVeigh (Berlin), 1:31; 285 — Anthony Spring (Maple Hill) pinned Austin Meyette (Berlin), :47.